Lock Publication Content for the District

District administrators can control what publication content is available to teachers and students. This is done by locking content within the District Admin account. Once content is locked, it becomes inaccessible to teachers and students.  

This feature is only available in the updated version of Studies Weekly Online and needs to be enabled for your District. Please contact Support@StudiesWeekly.com to get this enabled for your District. 

Once enabled in your Studies Weekly Online district admin account, navigate to the Lock Publications section of the District Admin tab.

Select a publication and scroll down through the Table of Contents to view titles. Content can be locked/unlocked by the Unit, Week, and Article level. Clicking a lock displays a confirmation modal to Continue or cancel (X).

After a piece of content has been locked, school admins and teachers will see a locked Visibility Toggle on their Table of Contents.

Students will not be aware any content has been blocked from view.

 

The Lock Publication feature provides more advanced options for locking content. It's found above the publication's Table of Contents.
Selecting the Lock Publication button opens a modal that allows district admins to:

A. View which content is Currently Unlocked (visible) to all users.

B. Select a content type to view and lock/unlock content in the column on the right. The default view is Units.

CUnlock/Lock buttons are by default unlocked and the content is visible to teachers and students. Clicking the button will lock content making it hidden from teachers and students. By default all content is visible. Use the button to control the locks in bulk. If content is selected to be locked, a modal appears and district admins will need to click Continue as a confirmation.  Content marked as locked will no longer be counted in the Currently Visible column.

D. The Publication Lock toggle will hide all content within the publication from teachers and students.

E. Publication Edit History displays a log of changes including the Date & Time, specific Activity, and the User who made edits. 

F. The Revert to Default button will revert all content within the publication back to the original order. It will also reset all toggles to the unlocked position.

G. District admins will need to Save to confirm any changes.

 Success

To view any content within a publication, it must be assigned to a classroom. Click a title in the Table of Contents to open it in a new browser tab, where you can either create a new classroom or select an existing classroom you want to add the publication to.